Your rooms Logout
Authors Sign In/Up Select UK
Inkflash is a 3D Virtual Reality bookstore that runs entirely in your web browser.
Start exploring!
FormatsDate PublishedPricePages
Hardcover 2018-01-09 $26.00 400
Audio CD (Unabridged AUDIO) 2018-01-09 $35.00 1
Audio CD (Unabridged) 2018-01-09 $90.99
Paperback 2018-01-04
Hardcover 2018-01-04
Kindle Edition
Audible Audio Edition
Audible Audio Edition

Have you read this book?
Join the discussion!

Happiness for Humans: 'Very clever and great fun' - bestselling author Kate Eberlen

Cover art: Happiness for Humans: 'Very clever and great fun' - bestselling author Kate Eberlen

By
Published by Sphere on 2018-01-04
Paperback
HUMOR, FICTION / Humorous, FICTION / Science Fiction, RELIGION, FICTION / Romance


'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' - Daily Record

Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Don't tell anyone, but Jen is one of my favourite people.

(Machines aren't supposed to have favourites. Don't ask me how this has happened.)

Jen is sad. Aiden wants her to be happy. Simple? Except that Jen is a thirty-something woman whose boyfriend has just left her and Aiden is a very complicated, very expensive piece of software.

Aiden knows Jen inside out. With access to all her devices, he knows her most played song, can find her favourite photos and single out the insta-quotes which most inspire her. Based on observations and unique algorithms, he has calculated that Jen should find a new man to achieve optimum wellbeing. And with the whole of the internet at his disposal, he doesn't have to look far to find a perfect specimen and engineer a meeting. Except Jen seems to be remarkably unwilling to fall in line with Aiden's flawless plan.

Can a very artificially intelligent machine discover emotional intelligence in time to fix Jen's life? And find out what exactly makes human beings happy?

'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney

'Very clever and great fun' - Kate Eberlen, bestselling author of Miss You

'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail

'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.'

'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine

'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine

'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror

'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine

'Funny and clever' - Good Housekeeping

(From the Kindle Edition)


(Paperback, 2018-01-04)


ASIN: 0751566713
ISBN: 9780751566710
EAN: 9780751566710

ACTIVITY FROM AROUND THE WEB

The facts about Jen are that she’s a 34-year-old ex-journalist with a new job training an AI called “Aiden” (get it?) to talk to people, which means, all day, every day, she talks about her thoughts and feelings with a pal of increasing intimacy who happens to be a machine, and that she has been recently dumped by her boyfriend of two years. The facts about Tom are that he is 44, recently divorced, ...

A charming enough romp that happily skims along the surface of its premise.

READ THE FULL ARTICLE AT Copyright Kirkus Reviews

SEEN A REVIEW OR FEATURE FOR THIS BOOK? Tell us!

HAVE YOU READ HAPPINESS FOR HUMANS: 'VERY CLEVER AND GREAT FUN' - BESTSELLING AUTHOR KATE EBERLEN? WHAT DID YOU THINK OF IT?

Book cover For novels: minor spoilers are fine, and kind of necessary in order to discuss the book; but do avoid huge spoilers like giving away the ending!
Authors are warmly invited to dive into the conversation.

Sign in with your Inkflash login details:
Welcome! You’re just one step away from a personalised 3D book exploring experience:
Your name
Email address
Choose a password: Forgot your password?
What’s 6 added to 0?

Fingerpress.co.uk - book publisher
Inkflash is owned and operated by Fingerpress (UK). Copyright ©, all rights reserved.

Site design and development by Matt Stephens, Dino Fancellu and William Narmontas.
Follow Inkflash on Twitter (@InkflashVR) and LinkedIn for the latest site developments.

Acknowledgments, image attributions, shout-outs etc

This website uses cookies to count visitors. Use at your own peril!!!!