Your rooms Logout
Authors Sign In/Up Select UK
Inkflash is a 3D Virtual Reality bookstore that runs entirely in your web browser.
Start exploring!
FormatsDate PublishedPricePages
Kindle Edition 2016-12-13 306
Hardcover 2016-12-13 $16.99 304
Library Binding $19.99 304

Have you read this book?
Join the discussion!

Silo and the Rebel Raiders

Cover art: Silo and the Rebel Raiders

By
Published by Delacorte Books for Young Readers on 2016-12-13
Hardcover: $16.99
JUVENILE FICTION / Science Fiction, Fantasy, Magic, HUMOR


A beautifully written and timeless fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Philip Reeve.

     Ten-year-old Silo Zyco doesn't know much about his relatives -- his father was a mysterious stranger, and the rest of the Zycos were killed in a disaster involving a terrible wave and lots of mud. All he has inherited is a family reputation for thieving, and webbed feet. But Silo, last of the Zycos, does have one thing that others envy. He can see things. Things that will happen in the future. And the people in the Capitol are looking to recruit children just like him to save them from dangers as yet unknown. It could be a glorious future, free from Mud Island and horrible eel suppers. But in Silo's visions, the future is looking very perilous indeed.
(Hardcover, 2016-12-13)


ASIN: 0399552413
ISBN: 9780399552410
EAN: 9780399552410

ACTIVITY FROM AROUND THE WEB
Convincing, humorous, and appealingly odd. (Science fiction. 9-13)

In a flooded, post-apocalyptic United Kingdom, a young boy travels from his marshlands home to the Capital to make his way in the world as a government-approved seer.

Silo also hopes to find his father, a man he’s recently realized is probably an outlaw. The narrative sticks closely to 10-year-old Silo, a pale, blue-eyed, white boy whose webbed feet and ill-reputed extended family gave him a difficult start in life in an island birthplace home to just a few families subsisting on eels and little else. His new status as a seer takes on a sinister meaning as he realizes ...

READ THE FULL ARTICLE AT Copyright Kirkus Reviews

SEEN A REVIEW OR FEATURE FOR THIS BOOK? Tell us!

HAVE YOU READ SILO AND THE REBEL RAIDERS? WHAT DID YOU THINK OF IT?

Book cover For novels: minor spoilers are fine, and kind of necessary in order to discuss the book; but do avoid huge spoilers like giving away the ending!
Authors are warmly invited to dive into the conversation.

Sign in with your Inkflash login details:
Welcome! You’re just one step away from a personalised 3D book exploring experience:
Your name
Email address
Choose a password: Forgot your password?
What’s 17 added to 3?

Fingerpress.co.uk - book publisher
Inkflash is owned and operated by Fingerpress (UK). Copyright ©, all rights reserved.

Site design and development by Matt Stephens, Dino Fancellu and William Narmontas.
Follow Inkflash on Twitter (@InkflashVR) and LinkedIn for the latest site developments.

Acknowledgments, image attributions, shout-outs etc

This website uses cookies to count visitors. Use at your own peril!!!!